The Château d’Apremont, listed as a historical monument since September 30, 1975, is located 4 kms from the campsite. The castle was built between 1534 and 1542 by Philippe Chabot de Brion. By the date of creation during a transition period, the castle has preserved some elements belonging to the Middle Ages with the gatehouse framed by its towers that testify to the old drawbridge that was there once. The castle also has architectural elements from the period of the beginning of the Renaissance with the East tower, the chapel and the cavalry vault which served as main gate of the castle in the 16th century and which is UNIQUE in France.
The history of Château d’Apremont
The castle of Apremont was implanted on a block of schist which overhangs the river the Life. The story goes that in 1622, King Louis XIII stayed there after the battle of Riez. In 1733, faced with the lack of financial means to maintain the castle, the Count of Olonne, Charles Paul Sigismund of Montmorency-Luxembourg, ordered the destruction of the building, the stones were sold and served in particular to the construction of the Bridge from Pirmil to Nantes. Inside the chapel you can observe the Apremont roll. A film is broadcast retracing the entire history of the Château d’Apremont
The castle belongs to the municipality of Apremont
Thanks to the generous donation of Mr. Georges Thébault in the 60s, the castle now belongs to the town of Apremont. We find the street Georges Thébault Apremont which certainly represents the gratitude towards this generous donor. The town hall is located in the enclosure, next to the chapel